essen.de > Life in Essen > Familien > Freizeit und Ferien

Leisure and holidays

How can children and adults spend their time in Essen, and what leisure options are there to tempt children and young people out into the wide world, or even to enjoy holidays in their own city? From "A" for "angling" to "Z" for "Zeche Zollverein": On the following pages, you can find information and tips on the topics of leisure and holidays in Essen.

Leisure options, from "A" to "Z"

From angling to crazy golf and sailing, all the way to the Essen Events and Cultural Programme: When it comes to leisure, Essen has a lot to offer.
More on leisure facilities

Ferienspatz the holiday sparrow

Not long now before the holiday sparrow starts into the forthcoming autumn holidays. There is once again an exciting range of holiday activities available for Essen's children.
More on the holiday sparrow

Playgrounds in Essen

Are you looking for a playground for your child? Over the following pages, you can find not only all the public playgrounds in Essen, but also contact information to use if you have any questions, or wish to report any problems.
More on Essen's playgrounds

Children's and youth centres in Essen

Competitions, children's cinema, projects, excursions, holiday play projects, children's discos, football, table football, basketball and much more: the programme of Essen's children's and youth centres leaves almost nothing to be desired. There are activities in almost all of Essen's neighbourhoods.
More on Essen's children's and youth centres

Essener Sportbund (Essen sports association) (ESPO)

Sporting opportunities for children, running and walking groups, preventive exercise, and many other sporting disciplines are offered by Essen's sports clubs: the Essener Sportbund association is the point of contact for anything relating to sports.
More on the Essener Sportbund (ESPO)

Essener Sportjugend (Essen sports youth)

Courses available for children and young people, as well as further training for disseminators and much more: Sportjugend Essen is your point of contact if you are interested in sporting opportunities for children and young people.
More on Sportjugend Essen

Subsidies for holiday projects of the Essen youth associations

Spending a holiday in an interesting manner does not always have to mean going on expensive trips; destinations in our own country, or those of our European neighbours, can also be extremely exciting. There is good news for those who lose heart when thinking about their holiday finances, provided that the trip organiser is a recognised agent of the free youth aid organisation. As long as the personal criteria are met, young people up to 27 years can receive a financial subsidy for their holiday activities.
More on holiday subsidies and applying

Holiday options for children and young people

How about a surfing taster course and mountain bike tours at a comfort camp in the south of France? Or would you prefer fun in the water at AquaCamp, in a small bay in Greece? Last summer, the range included a cycling and canoeing tour through the Ruhr Valley during the summer holidays, and an adventurous hiking tour through the Westerwald forest. On the following pages, you will find the holiday and leisure options available from the Essen youth associations.
More on the range of holiday options from Essen's youth associations

Extracurricular education options

Learning to play an instrument, discovering a new sport, or getting involved in social or community projects: education also means discovering and developing personal skills and interests. On the following pages, you can learn about the extracurricular education options available in Essen.
More on extracurricular education options

Contact
Admin chief of staff
Peter Herzogenrath
Telephone +49 (0)201 88 51107

Wie können Kinder und Erwachsene in Essen ihre Freizeit verbringen und welche Ferienangebote locken Kinder und Jugendliche in die weite Welt oder auch zum Urlaub in der eigenen Stadt? Von "A" wie "Angeln" bis "Z" wie "Zeche Zollverein": Auf den folgenden Seiten finden Sie Infos und Tipps zum Thema Freizeit und Ferien in Essen.

Freizeitangebote von "A" bis "Z"

Vom Angeln über Minigolf, Segeln, bis hin zum Essener Veranstaltungs- und Kulturprogramm: In Sachen Freizeit hat Essen einiges zu bieten.

Mehr zu den Freizeitangeboten 

Ferienspatz

Nicht mehr lange, dann startet der Ferienspatz in die kommenden Sommerferien. Das volle Ferienprgramm gibt es zirka sechs Wochen vor Ferienbeginn zum Download.
Mehr zum Ferienspatz

Spielplätze in Essen

Sie suchen einen Spielplatz für Ihr Kind? Auf den nachfolgenden Seiten finden Sie nicht nur alle öffentlichen Essener Spielplätze, sondern auch Ihre Ansprechpartner, wenn Sie Fragen haben oder Missstände bekannt geben wollen.
Mehr zu den Essener Spielplätzen

Kinder- und Jugendhäuser in Essen

Turniere, Kinderkino, Projekte, Ausflüge, Ferienspielaktionen, Kinderdisco, Fußball, Kicker, Basketball und vieles andere mehr: Das Programm der Essener Kinder- und Jugendhäuser lässt kaum einen Wunsch offen. Es gibt sie in fast allen Essener Stadtteilen.
Mehr zu den Essener Kinder- und Jugendhäusern

Essener Sportbund (ESPO)

Sportangebote für Kinder, Lauf und Walktreffs, Präventionssport und viele weitere Sportdisziplinen, die von Essener Sportvereinen angeboten werden: Der Essener Sportbund ist der Ansprechpartner in Sachen Sport.
Mehr zum Essener Sportbund (ESPO)...

Essener Sportjugend

Kursangebote für Kinder und Jugendliche sowie Fortbildungen für Multiplikatoren und vieles andere mehr: Die Sportjugend Essen ist Ihre Anlaufstelle, wenn es um Sportangebote für Kinder und Jugendliche geht.
Mehr zur Sportjugend Essen ...

Zuschüsse zu Ferienmaßnahmen der Essener Jugendverbände

Es müssen nicht immer teure Reisen sein, wenn man einen interessanten Urlaub verbringen will; auch Ziele im eigenen Land oder bei unseren europäischen Nachbarn können äußerst reizvoll sein. Für diejenigen, die bereits beim Blick in die dürftige Urlaubskasse der Mut verlässt, gibt es gute Nachrichten, wenn der Reiseanbieter ein anerkannter Träger der freien Jugendhilfe ist. Wenn dann noch die persönlichen Voraussetzungen stimmen, können junge Menschen bis 27 Jahre einen finanziellen Zuschuss für ihre Ferienmaßnahme erhalten.

Mehr zum Urlaubszuschuss und der Antragstellung

Ferienangebote für Kinder und Jugendliche

Wie wäre es mit Schnuppersurfen und Mountainbiketouren in einem Komfortcamp in Südfrankreich? Oder soll es lieber doch der Wasserspaß im AquaCamp in einer kleinen Bucht in Griechenland sein? Aber auch eine Fahrrad- und Kanutour durch das Ruhrtal während der Sommerferien und eine abenteuerliche Wandertour durch den Westerwald konnten in den vergangenen Sommerferien gebucht werden. Auf den folgenden Seiten finden Sie die Ferien- und Freizeitangebote der Essener Jugendverbände.
Mehr zu den Ferienangeboten der Essener Jugendverbände ...

Außerschulische Bildungsangebote

Ein Instrument spielen lernen, einen neuen Sport entdecken oder in sozialen oder gesellschaftlichen Projekten mitwirken: Bildung bedeutet auch, persönliche Fähigkeiten und Neigungen zu entdecken und weiterzuentwickeln. Auf den folgenden Seiten erfahren Sie, welche außerschulischen Bildungsangebote in Essen verfügbar sind.
Mehr zu außerschulischen Bildungsangeboten ...

Kontaktinfo