essen.de > Town Hall > Aemter > Ordner 32 > Staatsangehörigkeits- und Ausländerbehörde

The new electronic residence title (elektronischer Aufenthaltstitel - eAT)

The electronic residence title was introduced on 1 September 2011. Instead of the previous stickers used in passports, the residence title is now issued in the form of a chip card. These chip cards are similar to the new personal ID card for German citizens, and are produced by the Bundesdruckerei (Federal Printing Office) in Berlin.

In what form is the electronic residence title issued?

The following residence-related approvals are issued as electronic residence titles (eAT):

  • residence permits,
  • settlement permits, and
  • permanent residence permits (under Residence Law),
  • the EU Blue Card in accordance with article 19a of the Residence Law,
  • family member's residence cards, and
  • permanent residence cards (under the Freedom of Movement Law/EU), and
  • the residence permit for residents of Switzerland (under the agreement of the EU with Switzerland).

Format, chip

The electronic residence title is the size of a credit card. There is a chip integrated into the eAT card, holding not only personal data and data relating to the residence status, but also biometric data (photograph, two fingerprints).

eID and eSign function

The electronic identity card (eID) makes it possible, for example, to electronically identify oneself for internet services relating to the economy or administration. This function can be unlocked upon request. Using the electronic signature (eSign), you can sign legally valid digital documents. After the electronic residence title has been issued, you can apply for this function from a private certification service. These functions of the electronic residence title correspond to those of the new German electronic personal ID card.

Legal status

The electronic residence title is issued as a separate document. It is no substitute for a passport. It serves only to document residence status, and is fundamentally only valid in conjunction with a valid, recognised passport or passport substitute.

Time of application submission

The previous residence titles in sticker and paper formats remain valid. You need only apply for an electronic residence title when your (temporary) residence title expires or your passport, in which the residence title is held, has expired or been lost, and you have received a new passport (transfer).

Attendance in person at time of application, addition personal attendance to collect

As fingerprints are saved on the chip, all applicants over the age of 6 must attend in person. When all the requirements for issuing the residence title have been fulfilled, the electronic residence title is ordered by the Aliens Authority from the Bundesdruckerei (Federal Printing Office) in Berlin. The electronic residence title is sent to the Aliens Authority after around two to three weeks. To collect it, the applicant must attend again in person. In the event that you wish to arrange for someone else to collect your eAT, you must issue this person a power of attorney. The corresponding form sheet can be found in the download area on the right.

Contact information
Contact
Matters relating to nationality and foreigner affairs
Telephone +49 (0)201 88 33333 (appointment scheduling)
Email auslaenderbehoerde@einwohneramt.essen.de

essen.de > Rathaus > Ämter > Ordnungsamt > Staatsangehörigkeits- und Ausländerbehörde

Der neue elektronische Aufenthaltstitel (eAT)

Der elektronische Aufenthaltstitel wurde am 1. September 2011 eingeführt. Statt der bisherigen Aufkleber für den Pass werden die Aufenthaltstitel jetzt in Form einer Chipkarte ausgestellt. Diese Chipkarten ähneln dem neuen Personalausweis für deutsche Staatsangehörige und werden durch die Bundesdruckerei in Berlin produziert.

Was wird als elektronischer Aufenthaltstitel ausgestellt?

Folgende aufenthaltrechtliche Genehmigungen werden als eAT ausgestellt:

  • die Aufenthaltserlaubnis,
  • die Niederlassungserlaubnis sowie
  • die Erlaubnis zum Daueraufenthalt-EG (nach dem Aufenthaltsgesetz),
  • die Blaue Karte EU gemäß § 19a des Aufenthaltsgesetzes,
  • die Aufenthaltskarte und
  • die Daueraufenthaltskarte (nach dem Freizügigkeitsgesetz/EU) sowie
  • die Aufenthaltserlaubnis für Angehörige der Schweiz (nach dem Abkommen der EU mit der Schweiz).

Format, Chip

Der elektronische Aufenthaltstitel hat die Größe einer Scheckkarte. Auf einem im eAT integrierten Chip werden neben persönlichen und aufenthaltsrechtlichen auch biometrische Daten (Lichtbild, zwei Fingerabdrücke) gespeichert.

eID- und eSign-Funktion

Der elektronische Identitätsnachweis (eID) bietet zum Beispiel die Möglichkeit, sich bei Internetdiensten von Wirtschaft und Verwaltung elektronisch auszuweisen. Diese Funktion kann auf Wunsch freigeschaltet werden. Mit der elektronischen Unterschrift (eSign) können Sie rechtsgültig digitale Dokumente unterschreiben. Diese Funktion können Sie nach Ausstellung des elektronischen Aufenthaltstitels bei einem privaten Zertifizierungsservice beantragen. Diese Funktionen des elektronischen Aufenthaltstitels entsprechen denen des neuen deutschen elektronischen Personalausweises.

Rechtlicher Status

Der elektronische Aufenthaltstitel wird als separates Dokument ausgestellt. Er ist kein Passersatz. Er dient nur dazu, den aufenthaltsrechtlichen Status zu dokumentieren und ist grundsätzlich nur gültig im Zusammenhang mit einem gültigen, anerkannten Pass oder Passersatz.

Zeitpunkt der Antragstellung

Die bisherigen Aufenthaltstitel in Aufkleber- bzw. Papierform bleiben gültig. Sie müssen erst dann einen elektronischen Aufenthaltstitel beantragen, wenn Ihr (befristeter) Aufenthaltstitel abläuft oder Ihr Pass, in dem sich der Aufenthaltstitel befindet, abgelaufen ist oder verloren gegangen ist und Sie einen neuen Pass erhalten haben (Übertrag).

Persönliche Vorsprache bei Antragstellung, Zusätzliche Vorsprache zur Abholung

Da auf dem Chip Fingerabdrücke gespeichert werden, müssen alle Antragstellerinnen und Antragsteller, die das 6. Lebensjahr vollendet haben, persönlich vorsprechen. Wenn alle Voraussetzungen zur Erteilung des Aufenthaltstitels erfüllt sind, wird der elektronische Aufenthaltstitel durch die Ausländerbehörde bei der Bundesdruckerei in Berlin bestellt. Der elektronische Aufenthaltstitel wird nach ca. zwei bis drei Wochen an die Ausländerbehörde gesandt. Zur Abholung ist eine zusätzliche Vorsprache erforderlich. Für den Fall, dass Sie jemand Anderen mit der Abholung Ihres eAT beauftragen wollen, müssen Sie dieser Person eine Vollmacht ausstellen. Das entsprechende Formular finden Sie rechts zum Dowload.

Kontaktinfo