essen.de > Town Hall > Aemter > Ordner 45 9 > Alte Synagoge > Exhibitions

Old Synagogue Essen

Permanent Exhibitions in the "House of Jewish Culture"

Five new exhibitions have been prepared for the Old Synagogue as “House of Jewish Culture” in July 2010:

  • Sources of Jewish traditions
  • Jewish festival
  • Jewish way of life
  • History of the Old Synagogue
  • History of Essen’s Jewish community
Board with Jewish personalities

Sources of Jewish Traditions

What ‘nourishes’ Jewish traditions right up to the present day? Various aspects of Jewish life and religion give insight: the long history of Judaism, the Jewish calendar, the Torah and other texts, the synagogue as a place of assembly and worship.

Jewish Festivals

The synagogue’s original six large stained glass windows above the gallery depicted the main Jewish festivals. These windows have not been replaced in that form. Instead, six glass show-cases situated on the gallery present eight Jewish holidays: Shabbat, Purim, Pesach and Shavuot, Rosh Hashanah, Yom Kippur, Sukkot and Hanukkah. Ritual objects document vividly yet cautious the festive proceedings.

Jewish Way of Life

Contrary to common opinion and innumerable clichés, Judaism is not just a religion: it is a culture covering every field of life. Jews, then, are much more than a religious community, and this section shows visitors some unusual aspects of the Jewish world, and some of the many ways in which the old traditions live on today. In this respect nothing has ever been uniform: as the saying goes, three Jews have four opinions.
Here you will find many questions and many surprising (as well as some humorous) answers.

History of the Old Synagogue

Built between 1911 and 1913, the synagogue was burnt out in the Pogrom Night of November 1938. It remained a ruin until 1959, and was then used (1961-1979) as an exhibition hall for industrial design. Renamed the “Old Synagogue” in 1980 and restored between 1986 and 1988, it served for many years as a place of remembrance and historical documentation. In 2008 the new concept of a fully fledged House of Jewish Culture was launched – opening 2010. Photo-projections and a number of exhibits tell this manifold story, and computer stations are available for in-depth study.

History of Essen’s Jewish Community

Based on the archives of the Old Synagogue, the exhibition records the history of Essen’s Jewish community above all in the late 19th and early to mid 20th century. Personal objects – photos, refugee diaries, poetry albums, certificates and medals – bring the life of the city’s Jews, at home and in the countries of their exile, vividly and emotionally close to the visitor. A reading corner contains publications from the early decades of the 20th century, and a computer station provides access to further documentation.

essen.de > Rathaus > Ämter > Alte Synagoge / Haus jüdischer Kultur > Alte Synagoge > Ausstellungen

Alte Synagoge Essen

Dauerausstellungen im Haus jüdischer Kultur

Seit Juli 2010 gibt es im neu eröffneten Haus jüdischer Kultur fünf neue Ausstellungsbereiche:

  • Quellen jüdischer Traditionen
  • Jüdische Feste
  • Jüdischer "Way of Life"
  • Geschichte des Hauses
  • Geschichte der jüdischen Gemeinde Essen
Tafel mit jüdischen Persönlichkeiten

Quellen jüdischer Tradition

Was speist jüdische Traditionen bis zum heutigen Tag? Verschiedene Bereiche werden hierzu Einblicke gewähren: Die lange jüdische Geschichte, der jüdische Kalender, die Torah und andere Traditionstexte sowie die Synagoge als Ort der Versammlung.

Logo: Der Beauftragte der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien

Jüdische Feste

Die ursprünglichen sechs großen Buntglasfenster oberhalb der Empore waren zentralen jüdischen Festen gewidmet. Diese Fenster werden nicht mehr rekonstruiert. Jedoch werden auf der Empore zukünftig acht jüdische Feste in sechs Vitrinen präsentiert. Die Feste sind: Schabbat, Purim, Pessach und Schawuot, Rosh ha-Schannah, Jom Kippur, Sukkot und Chanukkah. Ritualgegenstände, Bilder und Filme veranschaulichen die Festabläufe.

Logo: Sparkasse Essen

Jüdischer "Way of Life"

Judentum ist entgegen einer weit verbreiteten Meinung weitaus mehr als Religion und allein mit dem Begriff der Religionsgemeinschaft nicht zu fassen. Judentum ist eine allumfassende Lebenskultur und entspricht so gar nicht den vielen Klischees. Dieser Ausstellungsbereich wird dazu einladen, ungewöhnliche Einblicke in jüdische Lebenswelten zu nehmen: Wie unterschiedlich werden Traditionen gelebt? Niemals einig? Drei Juden, vier Meinungen?
Das sind nur einige der Fragen, um die es gehen wird - mit viel Humor und überraschenden Antwortversuchen.

Logo: Landschaftsverband Rheinland

Geschichte des Hauses

Erbaut zwischen 1911 - 13, Synagoge bis 1938, Ruine von 1938 - 59, Haus Industrieform von 1961 bis 1979, "Alte Synagoge“ ab 1980, rekonstruiert 1986-88 und nun die neue Konzeption von 2008 - 2010. Dieses Haus hat eine wechselvolle Geschichte, die in Fotoprojektionen und mit einigen Exponaten erzählt wird. Ein "Vertiefungspunkt“ mit Computerarbeitsplätzen lädt zur weiteren Annährung an die Themen ein.

Logo: NRW-Stiftung

Geschichte der jüdischen Gemeinde Essen

Gestützt auf die Sammlung des Archivs der "Alten Synagoge“ kann man sich hier über die Geschichte der jüdischen Gemeinde Essen mit Schwerpunkt Ende 19. Jahrhundert und erste Hälfte 20. Jahrhundert informieren. Persönliche Gegenstände wie Poesiealben, Fotos, Fluchttagebücher, Zeugnisse, Urkunden und Orden aus dem Leben von Essener Juden, auch in den Emigrationsländern, sind bewegende Objekte, die Geschichten erzählen. Eine Leseecke mit Publikationen aus den ersten Jahrzehnten des 20. Jahrhunderts lädt zu ruhiger Lektüre ein, und ein computergestützter Vertiefungspunkt führt durch zahlreiche weitere Dokumente.

Logo: Stadtwerke Essen