Seat Reservation at the Synagogue Essen, 1936
Hugo Stern and his Son Heinrich on the banks of the river Ruhr, 1931
The small Reference Library
Logo Stadtwerke Essen

History of the Jewish community in Essen

The collection focuses on the lives of Jews in Essen during the 20th century. It contains audio interviews, short biographical accounts and more detailed biographies, correspondence, private photographs, diaries, school reports, poetry albums, and other material documenting a large variety of individual experiences. Contacts to former members of Essen’s Jewish community and their descendents continuously provide new material that is integrated in the collection.

Different kinds of documents on Essen Jewry such as secondary literature, newspaper articles and essays – are a further source of information..

A special emphasis of our collection lies on the history of the synagogue itself. Building plans, drawings and other official documents relating to its construction, and numerous photographs illustrating the different phases of its eventful existence are on display.

Book of Memory

Between 1985 and 2006 the Old Synagogue conducted a special project entitled “Book of Memory”. Inspired by the concept of active remembrance, individual citizens, pupils, school classes and youth groups undertook to trace and document the life and fate of a particular person murdered in the Shoah. The Old Synagogue supported the research, providing information and establishing contact to living relatives or friends. It furnished general advice and supervised the implementation of the individual research.. On completion, the project comprised some 400 entries.

Library

The small reference library contains a selection of books and articles on Jewish history, culture, religion and art, as well as general reference works. This is complemented by a section containing original editions of Jewish writing from the first half of the 20th century.

Reading and research facilities

The holdings of the collection are fully catalogued and are – subject to individual restrictions – available for academic, educational and journalistic use.

The use of the facilities is free-of-charge. However, a fee is levied for special services, material costs as well as use of material subject to copyright restrictions..

Please contact us prior to your visit.

Alte Synagoge

Telefon: +49 (0)201 88 45221
Fax: +49 (0)201 88 45225
E-Mailmartina.strehlen@alte-synagoge.essen.de

Platzkarte der Synagogengemeinde Essen, 1936
Hugo Stern und sein Sohn Heinrich an der Ruhr, 1931
Kleine Präsenzbibliothekin der Verwaltung
Logo der Stadtwerke Essen AG

Wir danken der Stadtwerke Essen AG für ihre Unterstützung.

Geschichte der jüdischen Gemeinde in Essen

Lebensgeschichten jüdischer Essener im 20. Jahrhundert bilden den Schwerpunkt dieser Sammlung. Audio-Interviews, kürzere und längere biographische Aufzeichnungen, Briefwechsel, private Fotografien, Tagebücher, Schulzeugnisse, Poesiealben und anderes dokumentieren die individuellen Erfahrungen jüdischer Essener. Durch die Kontakte der "Alten Synagoge" zu jüdischen ehemaligen Essenern wird die Sammlung erweitert.
Eine Ergänzung bietet Sekundärliteratur wie Zeitungsausschnitte und Aufsätze.
Ein spezielles Sammelgebiet bildet die Geschichte des Synagogengebäudes. Hierzu finden sich neben Bauakten und -zeichnungen vor allem zahlreiche Fotografien aus allen Phasen seiner wechselvollen Geschichte.

Gedenkbuchprojekt

Zwischen 1985 und 2006 wurde das Gedenkbuchprojekt der "Alten Synagoge" durchgeführt. Wichtig war hierbei das Konzept des "aktiven Gedenkens“, an dem sich jeder Interessierte - Bürger, Schüler/innen, Schulklassen, Jugendgruppen - beteiligen konnte. Mit der Übernahme einer "Patenschaft“ erklärte sich der Pate bereit, den Lebensweg eines in der Schoah Ermordeten zu recherchieren und in einer "Gedenkurkunde“ zu dokumentieren. Die "Alte Synagoge" half bei der Spurensuche, vermittelte Informationen und Kontakte zu noch lebenden Angehörigen oder Freunden und betreute die "Paten“ während ihrer Arbeit. Insgesamt wurden fast 400 Gedenkurkunden geschrieben.

Bibliothek

Die kleine Präsenzbibliothek enthält ausgewählte Sekundärliteratur zu jüdischer Geschichte, Kultur, Religion und Kunst sowie Nachschlagewerke. Daneben gibt es jüdische Literatur in Originalausgaben aus der ersten Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts.

Lesen und Forschen

Die Bestände der Sammlungen sind über Kataloge erschlossen und stehen - soweit im Einzelnen keine Nutzungseinschränkungen bestehen - für wissenschaftliche, pädagogische und publizistische Zwecke zur Verfügung.
Die Benutzung ist kostenfrei. Sonderleistungen, Sachkosten sowie die Einräumung von Veröffentlichungs- und Verwertungsrechten erfordern eine Gebühr.
Um Voranmeldung wird gebeten.

Alte Synagoge

Telefon: +49 (0)201 88 45221
Fax: +49 (0)201 88 45225
E-Mailmartina.strehlen@alte-synagoge.essen.de