essen.de > Town Hall > Mayor

Duties of the Lord Mayor

The Lord Mayor as Chairman of the Council

Chair of the Council and Steering Committee

The Lord Mayor holds the chair in the Council and the Main Committee, but is not a member of these. As Chairman of the Council, he determines the agenda and chairs proceedings.

Voting rights of the full-time Lord Mayor in the Council

The most important rights of the full-time Lord Mayor include his right to vote in the Council. This means that he is always able to be involved in the decisions of the Council. He is only excluded from voting when the municipal code explicitly restricts voting rights to members of the Council, or when deciding the composition of Council committees.

The Lord Mayor as head of the administration

The full-time Lord Mayor is simultaneously the head of the administration. As such, he is answerable for everything that the administration produces and decides on. His responsibility is manifested in his relationship with the Council, which he is required to advise on all matters.

Comprehensive responsibility

For the Lord Mayor to live up to his responsibilities vis-à-vis the Council and the people, he must be capable of decisively influencing the activities of the administration:

  • He must inform the Council regarding all important matters (article 55 para. 1 Municipal Code NRW).
  • He prepares the resolutions of the Council, and executes them (article 62 para. 2 Municipal Code NRW).
  • He decides, without the Council being entitled to give him instructions in this regard, on the allocation of duties and the internal organisation of the municipal administration (article 62 para. 1 Municipal Code NRW); the Council is only entitled to determine the portfolios of the appointed deputy mayors (article 73 para. 1 Municipal Code NRW).
  • As a result of his function as head of the administration, it follows that he is entitled to give technical instructions to the employees of the administration; as such, he is their supervisor.
  • As their service supervisor (article 3 para. 4 LBG) he is responsible for the decisions made by all employees of the municipality in relation to public services law (article 73 para. 2 Municipal Code NRW).
  • He represents the municipality in legal relations (article 63 para. 1 Municipal Code NRW)
  • He determines the budget (article 79 para. 1 Municipal Code NRW).
  • He gives orders to the Rechnungsprüfungsamt (Auditing Office) (article 104 para. 1 Municipal Code NRW).

The responsibility of the full-time Lord Mayor for the activities of the municipality is also illustrated by the fact that urgent decisions can only be made with his participation, and can never be pushed through against his opposition.

Ultimately, the importance of his office is demonstrated by the fact that whenever the municipality is able to send two or more representatives to shareholder meetings, supervisory commissions or comparable committees, either he goes himself or he sends a deputy from the administration on his behalf (articles 63 para. 2 and 113 para. 2 Municipal Code NRW).

Right of objection

If he is of the view that a resolution of the Council is not in the interests of the municipality, he is entitled to object to the resolution. This objection postpones the decision until the Council has confirmed it in a new resolution. The resolution is then binding for the full-time Lord Mayor - as the head of the administration. (article 54 para. 1 Municipal Code NRW)

Rejecting resolutions of the Council

If resolutions of the Council breach the applicable law, the Lord Mayor is obliged to reject them. This rejection has the effect of postponing them. Even if the Council repeats its resolution, the Lord Mayor is not bound by it. Rather, he is obliged to call in the municipal supervisory commission immediately after the decision. (article 54 para. 2 Municipal Code NRW)

Authorising officer for the State

Within the framework of the duties assigned to the communities, to be fulfilled after receiving instructions, he is authorised to execute instructions received from the State. The Council is entitled to monitor the execution of these instructions, but not to impede such execution (article 62 para. 2 clause 2 Municipal Code NRW).

 
Um das Informationsangebot der Internetseite nutzerfreundlicher zu gestalten, verwenden wir Cookies. Falls Sie mit der Speicherung von Cookies nicht einverstanden sind, finden Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung weitere Informationen.
OK

essen.de > Rathaus > Oberbürgermeister

Aufgaben des Oberbürgermeisters

Der Oberbürgermeister als Ratsvorsitzender

Vorsitz im Rat und Hauptausschuss

Der Oberbürgermeister führt den Vorsitz im Rat, dessen Mitglied er kraft Gesetzes ist (§40 ABS.2 GO NRW). Er setzt die Tagesordnung fest und führt die Verhandlungen.

Weiterhin führt er den Vorsitz im Hauptausschuss (§57 Abs.3 GO NRW).

Stimmrecht des hauptamtlichen Oberbürgermeisters im Rat

Zu den wichtigsten Rechten des hauptamtlichen Oberbürgermeisters zählt sein Stimmrecht im Rat. Dadurch kann er grundsätzlich an allen Entscheidungen des Rates mitwirken. Er ist nur dann von der Abstimmung ausgeschlossen, wenn die Gemeindeordnung das Stimmrecht ausdrücklich an die Mitgliedschaft im Rat knüpft oder wenn über die Besetzung in Ratsausschüssen zu entscheiden ist.

Der Oberbürgermeister als Chef der Verwaltung

Der hauptamtliche Oberbürgermeister ist zugleich Chef der Verwaltung. Als solcher verantwortet er alles, was die Verwaltung erarbeitet und entscheidet. Seine Verantwortung aktualisiert sich gegenüber dem Rat, den er in seiner Gesamtheit zu beraten hat.

Umfassende Verantwortung

Damit der Oberbürgermeister seiner Verantwortung gegenüber dem Rat und den Bürgern gerecht werden kann, muss er das Handeln der Verwaltung maßgeblich gestalten können:

  • Er muss den Rat über alle wichtigen Angelegenheiten unterrichten (§ 55 Abs. 1 Gemeindeordnung NRW).
  • Er bereitet die Beschlüsse des Rates vor und führt diese aus (§ 62 Abs. 2 Gemeindeordnung NRW).
  • Er entscheidet, ohne dass der Rat ihm insoweit Vorgaben machen kann, über die Geschäftsverteilung und die innere Organisation der Gemeindeverwaltung (§ 62 Abs. 1 Gemeindeordnung NRW); lediglich den Geschäftskreis der Beigeordneten kann der Rat festlegen (§ 73 Abs. 1 Gemeindeordnung NRW).
  • Aus seiner Funktion als Leiter der Verwaltung folgt seine Berechtigung, den Beschäftigten der Verwaltung fachliche Weisungen zu erteilen; er ist also deren Vorgesetzter.
  • Als Dienstvorgesetzter (§ 3 Abs. 4 LBG) ist er für die dienstrechtlichen Entscheidungen aller Beschäftigten der Gemeinde zuständig (§ 73 Abs. 2 Gemeindeordnung NRW).
  • Er vertritt die Gemeinde im Rechtsverkehr (§ 63 Abs. 1 Gemeindeordnung NRW)
  • Er stellt den Haushalt fest (§ 79 Abs. 1 Gemeindeordnung NRW).
  • Er erteilt dem Rechnungsprüfungsamt Aufträge (§ 104 Abs. 1 Gemeindeordnung NRW).

Die Verantwortlichkeit des hauptamtlichen Oberbürgermeisters für das gemeindliche Handeln wird auch dadurch deutlich, dass Dringlichkeitsentscheidungen nur gemeinsam mit ihm, niemals aber gegen ihn herbeigeführt werden können.

Schließlich ist der Bedeutung seines Amtes auch dadurch Rechnung getragen, dass immer dann, wenn die Gemeinde zwei oder mehr Vertreter in Gesellschafterversammlungen, Aufsichtsräte oder vergleichbare Gremien entsenden kann, entweder er selbst oder ein von ihm beauftragter Bediensteter der Verwaltung dazu gehören muss (§§ 63 Abs. 2 und 113 Abs. 2 Gemeindeordnung NRW).

Widerspruchsrecht

Gefährdet ein Ratsbeschluss nach seiner Auffassung das Wohl der Gemeinde, so kann er diesem Beschluss widersprechen. Dieser Widerspruch hat so lange aufschiebende Wirkung, bis der Rat ihn in einer erneuten Beschlussfassung bestätigt hat. Dann ist der Beschluss für den hauptamtlichen Oberbürgermeister - als Chef der Verwaltung - bindend. (§ 54 Abs. 1 Gemeindeordnung NRW)

Beanstandung von Ratsbeschlüssen

Ratsbeschlüsse, die das geltende Recht verletzen, muss der Oberbürgermeister beanstanden. Diese Beanstandung hat aufschiebende Wirkung. Selbst wenn der Rat seinen Beschluss wiederholt, ist der Oberbürgermeister hieran nicht gebunden. Er muss vielmehr unverzüglich die Entscheidung der unmittelbaren Kommunalaufsichtsbehörde einholen. (§ 54 Abs. 2 Gemeindeordnung NRW)

Weisungsbefugter des Landes

Im Rahmen der den Gemeinden übertragenen Pflichtaufgaben zur Erfüllung nach Weisung ist es seine Aufgabe, eine vom Land erteilte Weisung auszuführen. Der Rat kann die Ausführung dieser Weisung überwachen, sie aber nicht verhindern (§ 62 Abs. 2 Satz 2 Gemeindeordnung NRW).