essen.de > Town Hall > City Council

Political party groups on the Council of the City of Essen

From a strength of 3 persons onwards, members of the Council may form a party group within the Council As a rule, these are the members of a political party. Groups that do not reach party group strength may joint to form so-called Council groups.
The party group members support each other in their opinion-forming process and utilize the knowledge and experience of their colleagues within the group. To this extent, party groups play an important role in the will-and-decision finding process. Party group status also confers various rights.

For the organization of such work, party group offices have been set up to provide support to Council members in the execution of their mandate, organize exchanges of information and views, and prepare motions and submissions. In this way, they facilitate the work of the Council.

Party groups receive for their activities a financial budget from the city in accordance with the number of their members.

essen.de > Rathaus > Rat

Fraktionen im Rat der Stadt Essen

Ratsmitglieder können sich ab einer Stärke von 3 Personen zu einer Fraktion zusammenschließen. In der Regel sind dies die Mitglieder einer Partei. Gruppierungen, die keine Fraktionsstärke erreichen, können sich zu sogenannten Ratsgruppen zusammenschließen.

Die Fraktionsmitglieder unterstützen sich in ihrer Meinungsbildung und nutzen untereinander das Wissen und die Erfahrung ihrer Fraktionskolleginnen und -kollegen. Insofern spielen Fraktionen eine wichtige Rolle bei der Willensbildung und Entscheidungsfindung. An den Fraktionsstatus sind verschiedene Rechte geknüpft.

Für die Organisation dieser Arbeit wurden Geschäftsstellen der Fraktionen eingerichtet, die die Ratsmitglieder bei der Wahrnehmung ihres Mandates unterstützen, den Informations- und Meinungsaustausch organisieren und Anträge vorbereiten. Damit erleichtern sie die Arbeit des Rates.

Die Fraktionen erhalten für ihre Tätigkeit von der Stadt eine finanzielle Ausstattung, die sich in ihrer Höhe nach der Mitgliederzahl richtet.

Detailinformationen zu den Fraktionen finden Sie im Ratsinformationssystem der Stadt Essen.