Essen International

In the internal European market and in the age of globalization, cities are more and more in competition with one another. This holds particularly true for large cities as investments in economy and science are arranged in locations that present themselves as attractive international locations and are active in international relationships.

This also includes taking action in the global competition in order to remain attractive as a location for technology and business, headquarters of international corporations, tourism destination, centre of science and innovation, host of major international events, home to internationally renowned cultural institutions and also as a cosmopolitan and sustainable city.

The City of Essen benefits strongly from funds of the European Union (EU). It receives about 35.4 million euros of financial benefits each year for different projects in the fields of culture, environment, construction, social issues and education. This money directly benefits the citizens as the projects lead to a higher quality of life. This is the declared aim in almost every international project.

Essen is the first city to receive the European Capital of Culture award in 2010 and the European Green Capital award in 2017 by the European Commission. As many as 1.4 million visitors attended the events of the Capital of Culture. In 2020 we celebrate the tenth anniversary. Furthermore Essen will always be the European Green Capital 2017. This award was a reward for achieving high environmental standards. Essen has assumed a pioneering role and is a role model for other cities. Numerous project participations in international research projects on environmental issues bear witness to the interest of other cities in our experience.

Frau Schemeit, Nina
+49 201 8888724
Herr Theisen, Michael
+49 201 8888723
weitere Informationen (Sprechzeiten, Anschrift, Dienstleistungen...)

Quicklinks

© 2020 Stadt Essen

Essen International

Städte stehen im europäischen Binnenmarkt und im Zeitalter der Globalisierung zunehmend miteinander im Wettbewerb. Das gilt in besonderer Weise für Großstädte, da Investitionen in Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft an denjenigen Standorten getätigt werden, die sich als attraktiver internationaler Standort präsentieren und sich in internationalen Beziehungen engagieren.

Dazu gehört es, im globalen Wettbewerb Maßnahmen zu ergreifen, um als Technologie- und Wirtschaftsstandort, Hauptsitz internationaler Konzerne, Tourismusdestination, Zentrum für Wissenschaft und Innovation, Ausrichter internationaler Großveranstaltungen, Heimat weltweit renommierter Kultureinrichtungen sowie als weltoffene und nachhaltig agierende Stadt attraktiv zu bleiben.

Die Stadt Essen profitiert enorm von Fördermitteln aus der Europäischen Union. Für verschiedenste Projekte in den Bereichen Kultur, Umwelt, Bauen, Soziales und Bildung erhält sie jährlich rund 35,4 Millionen Euro Unterstützung. Geld, das den Bürgerinnen und Bürgern direkt zugutekommt, denn die Projekte führen zu einer höheren Lebensqualität. Diese ist ein ausgewiesenes Ziel in fast jedem internationalen Projekt.

Essen ist die erste Stadt, die die Auszeichnungen als Europäische Kulturhauptstadt 2010 und als Grüne Hauptstadt Europas 2017 von der EU-Kommission erhalten hat. Allein 1,4 Millionen Menschen besuchten die Veranstaltungen der Kulturhauptstadt. 2020 feiern wir das zehnjährige Jubiläum. Essen wird immer Grüne Hauptstadt Europas 2017 bleiben. Diese Auszeichnung diente als Belohnung für das Erreichen hoher Umweltstandards. Essen hat eine Vorreiterrolle übernommen und ist Vorbild für andere Städte. Mehrfache Projektbeteiligungen in internationalen Forschungsprojekten in Umweltthemen zeugen vom Interesse anderer Städte an unseren Erfahrungen.

Leitung, EU-Beauftragte

Frau Thetard, Petra
+49 201 8888750
weitere Informationen (Sprechzeiten, Anschrift, Dienstleistungen...)

Internationales/Interkommunale Beziehungen, Städtepartnerschaften

Frau Schemeit, Nina
+49 201 8888724
Herr Theisen, Michael
+49 201 8888723
weitere Informationen (Sprechzeiten, Anschrift, Dienstleistungen...)
© 2020 Stadt Essen